.comment-link {margin-left:.6em;}

Sight Screen

Sunday, October 30, 2005

The sub-rule

Samir: You can super sub anyone at anytime. The mpire is upposed to give a time out signal. My understanding is that if Raina replaces MK after MK has finished his spell, Raina can still bowl 10 overs.

Actually, no, Samir, that can't happen. A sub can bowl any part of the quota *remaining * of the bowler he substitutes -- for instance, if MK is subbed after bowling 5 overs, the sub can bowl the other five. Alternately, if he subs say a batsman -- let's say he subs VR. He can bowl the full quota available to VR. BUt he cannot sub a bowler who has finished his quota, and still bowl. Nor can he sub a batsman who has *finished* batting, and still bat -- he can, though, sub a batsman mid innings, in case of form or injury or anything else at all.

1 Comments:

Post a Comment

<< Home