.comment-link {margin-left:.6em;}

Sight Screen

Monday, January 09, 2006

Umpires for Indian series (-worma)

The ICC has announced the list of officials for upcoming series...and the good news for India is that we have a Bucknor-free test series in Pakistan as well as at home against England. He does get to officiate in a couple of ODIs against Pakistan (and officials for ODIs against England are not yet disclosed)...but hey..this is as good as it gets.
The umpires for the series all come from the Elite Panel and all have previous Test experience in Pakistan. Rudi Koertzen will stand in the first two Tests, at Lahore (starting January 13) and Faisalabad (starting January 21) and he will be joined by Darrell Hair for the first match and Simon Taufel for the second. Taufel will be joined by Daryl Harper for the third and final Test, at Karachi starting on January 29.

Elite Panel match referee Chris Broad will replace Madugalle for the five-match ODI series that follows the Tests in Pakistan, starting at Peshawar on February 6. Taufel will stay on for the first three matches of that series before Steve Bucknor, another Elite Panel umpire, takes over for the last two games, at Multan (February 16) and Karachi ( February 19).
Ranjan Madugalle will act as match referee for the three-match Test series between India and England that begins at Nagpur on March 1. The umpires for that first Test will be Aleem Dar and Ian Howell. Simon Taufel and Darrell Hair will then stand in the second and third Tests of the series, at Mohali (starting on March 9) and Mumbai (starting on March 18). The appointments for the ODI series between India and England, scheduled to start at Delhi on March 28, together with other future series, will be made in due course


Post a Comment

<< Home